Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9781616202422
Year 2012-04-17
Pages 307
Language en
Publisher Algonquin Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Fifteen-year-old Kambili and her older brother Jaja lead a privileged life in Enugu, Nigeria. They live in a beautiful house, with a caring family, and attend an exclusive missionary school. They're completely shielded from the troubles of the world. Yet, as Kambili reveals in her tender-voiced account, things are less perfect than they appear. Although her Papa is generous and well respected, he is fanatically religious and tyrannical at home—a home that is silent and suffocating. As the country begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili and Jaja are sent to their aunt, a university professor outside the city, where they discover a life beyond the confines of their father’s authority. Books cram the shelves, curry and nutmeg permeate the air, and their cousins’ laughter rings throughout the house. When they return home, tensions within the family escalate, and Kambili must find the strength to keep her loved ones together. Purple Hibiscus is an exquisite novel about the emotional turmoil of adolescence, the powerful bonds of family, and the bright promise of freedom.

Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9780007383696
Year 2012-11-29
Pages 336
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The limits of fifteen-year-old Kambili’s world are defined by the high walls of her family estate and the dictates of her fanatically religious father. Her life is regulated by schedules: prayer, sleep, study, prayer.

Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9780345808110
Year 2013-03-26
Pages 320
Language en
Publisher Vintage Canada
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Fifteen-year-old Kambili's world is circumscribed by the high walls and frangipani trees of her family compound. Her wealthy Catholic father, under whose shadow Kambili lives, while generous and politically active in the community, is repressive and fanatically religious at home. When Nigeria begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili's father sends her and her brother away to stay with their aunt, a University professor, whose house is noisy and full of laughter. There, Kambili and her brother discover a life and love beyond the confines of their father's authority. The visit will lift the silence from their world and, in time, give rise to devotion and defiance that reveal themselves in profound and unexpected ways. This is a book about the promise of freedom; about the blurred lines between childhood and adulthood, between love and hatred, between the old gods and the new.

Half of a Yellow Sun Americanah Purple Hibiscus Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Three Book Collection

Half of a Yellow Sun  Americanah  Purple Hibiscus  Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Three Book Collection Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9780007588534
Year 2014-04-07
Pages 1184
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILEY’S WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION ‘A delicious, important novel’ The Times ‘Alert, alive and gripping’ Independent ‘Some novels tell a great story and others make you change the way you look at the world. Americanah does both.’ Guardian

Half of a Yellow Sun

Half of a Yellow Sun Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 0307485773
Year 2008-11-12
Pages 560
Language en
Publisher Anchor
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

With effortless grace, celebrated author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie illuminates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra's impassioned struggle to establish an independent republic in southeastern Nigeria during the late 1960s. We experience this tumultuous decade alongside five unforgettable characters: Ugwu, a thirteen-year-old houseboy who works for Odenigbo, a university professor full of revolutionary zeal; Olanna, the professor’s beautiful young mistress who has abandoned her life in Lagos for a dusty town and her lover’s charm; and Richard, a shy young Englishman infatuated with Olanna’s willful twin sister Kainene. Half of a Yellow Sun is a tremendously evocative novel of the promise, hope, and disappointment of the Biafran war. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah.

Americanah

Americanah Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9780307962126
Year 2013-05-14
Pages 496
Language en
Publisher Anchor
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The bestselling novel—a love story of race and identity—from the award-winning author of We Should All Be Feminists and Dear Ijeawele. Ifemelu and Obinze are young and in love when they depart military-ruled Nigeria for the West. Beautiful, self-assured Ifemelu heads for America, where despite her academic success, she is forced to grapple with what it means to be black for the first time. Quiet, thoughtful Obinze had hoped to join her, but with post-9/11 America closed to him, he instead plunges into a dangerous, undocumented life in London. Fifteen years later, they reunite in a newly democratic Nigeria, and reignite their passion—for each other and for their homeland.

Purple Hibiscus

Purple Hibiscus Author Frederic P. Miller
ISBN-10 6134313009
Year 2011-02-22
Pages 76
Language en
Publisher Alphascript Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Purple Hibiscus is the first novel by Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It was first published by Algonquin Books in 2003. The novel is on the English Leaving Certificate course in Ireland, the Advanced Placement course in select US schools, as well as the International Baccalaureate course in some schools in Europe. Purple Hibiscus is a novel set in postcolonial Nigeria, a country beset by political instability and economic difficulties. The central character is Kambili Achike, fifteen for much of the period covered by the book, a member of a wealthy family dominated by her devoutly Catholic father, Eugene. Eugene is both a religious zealot and a violent figure in the Achike household, subjecting his wife Beatrice, Kambili herself, and her brother Jaja to beatings and psychological cruelty. The story is told through Kambili's eyes and is essentially about the disintegration of her family unit and her struggle to grow to maturity.

The Thing Around Your Neck

The Thing Around Your Neck Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 0307272052
Year 2009-06-16
Pages 224
Language en
Publisher Anchor
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In these twelve dazzlng stories, the bestselling, award-winning Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie explores the ties that bind men and women, parents and children, Africa and the United States. Searing and profound, suffused with beauty, sorrow, and longing, these stories map, with Adichie's signature emotional wisdom, the collision of two cultures and the deeply human struggle to reconcile them.

We Should All Be Feminists

We Should All Be Feminists Author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN-10 9781101872932
Year 2014-07-29
Pages 32
Language en
Publisher Vintage
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

What does “feminism” mean today? That is the question at the heart of We Should All Be Feminists, a personal, eloquently-argued essay—adapted from her much-viewed Tedx talk of the same name—by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun. With humor and levity, here Adichie offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century—one rooted in inclusion and awareness. She shines a light not only on blatant discrimination, but also the more insidious, institutional behaviors that marginalize women around the world, in order to help readers of all walks of life better understand the often masked realities of sexual politics. Throughout, she draws extensively on her own experiences—in the U.S., in her native Nigeria, and abroad—offering an artfully nuanced explanation of why the gender divide is harmful for women and men, alike. Argued in the same observant, witty and clever prose that has made Adichie a bestselling novelist, here is one remarkable author’s exploration of what it means to be a woman today—and an of-the-moment rallying cry for why we should all be feminists. An eBook short.

Things Fall Apart

Things Fall Apart Author Chinua Achebe
ISBN-10 0435905252
Year 1996
Pages 148
Language en
Publisher Heinemann
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This expanded edition of Chinua Achebe's first novel portrays the collision of African and European cultures in an Igbo village. Okonkwo, a great man in Igbo traditional society, cannot adapt to the profound changes brought by the British conquest of Nigeria. Yet, as in classic tragedy, Okonkwo's character as well as external forces contribute to his downfall. This expanded edition includes new illustrations, maps, additional essays on history, culture,and literature, and reference material to help readers see Achebe's classic novel in social and historical context, and to understand its place in world literature.

Betrayal

Betrayal Author Martina Cole
ISBN-10 9781472201065
Year 2016-10-20
Pages 480
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Betrayal by Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, author of DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, GET EVEN and many more, is a gripping novel about the bonds that make - or break - a family. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian), Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell. Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was a kid, and he's going to keep it that way. Jade Dixon watches his back. Mother of his son, she's the one who makes him invincible. But Jade's been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one's indestructible. And when you're at the top, that's when you've got to watch the hardest. Especially the ones closest to you . . .

GraceLand

GraceLand Author Chris Abani
ISBN-10 1429929820
Year 2005-01-26
Pages 336
Language en
Publisher Farrar, Straus and Giroux
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Graceland is a dazzling debut by a singular new talent The sprawling, swampy, cacophonous city of Lagos, Nigeria, provides the backdrop to the story of Elvis, a teenage Elvis impersonator hoping to make his way out of the ghetto. Broke, beset by floods, and beatings by his alcoholic father, and with no job opportunities in sight, Elvis is tempted by a life of crime. Thus begins his odyssey into the dangerous underworld of Lagos, guided by his friend Redemption and accompanied by a restless hybrid of voices including The King of Beggars, Sunday, Innocent and Comfort. Ultimately, young Elvis, drenched in reggae and jazz, and besotted with American film heroes and images, must find his way to a GraceLand of his own. Nuanced, lyrical, and pitch perfect, Abani has created a remarkable story of a son and his father, and an examination of postcolonial Nigeria where the trappings of American culture reign supreme. "A richly detailed, poignant, and utterly fascinating look into another culture and how it is cross-pollinated by our own. It brings to mind the work of Ha Jin in its power and revelation of the new."--T. Coraghessan Boyle

Here Lies the Librarian

Here Lies the Librarian Author Richard Peck
ISBN-10 0803730802
Year 2006
Pages 145
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Fourteen-year-old Eleanor "Peewee" McGrath, a tomboy and automobile enthusiast, discovers new possibilities for her future after the 1914 arrival in her small Indiana town of four young librarians.