The Cold Song

The Cold Song Author Linn Ullmann
ISBN-10 9781590516683
Year 2014-04-08
Pages 336
Language en
Publisher Other Press, LLC
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Named in the New York Times Book Review’s 100 Notable Books of 2014! Ullmann’s characters are complex and paradoxical: neither fully guilty nor fully innocent Siri Brodal, a chef and restaurant owner, is married to Jon Dreyer, a famous novelist plagued by writer’s block. Siri and Jon have two daughters, and together they spend their summers on the coast of Norway, in a mansion belonging to Jenny Brodal, Siri’s stylish and unforgiving mother. Siri and Jon’s marriage is loving but difficult, and troubled by painful secrets. They have a strained relationship with their elder daughter, Alma, who struggles to find her place in the family constellation. When Milla is hired as a nanny to allow Siri to work her long hours at the restaurant and Jon to supposedly meet the deadline on his book, life in the idyllic summer community takes a dire turn. One rainy July night, Milla disappears without a trace. After her remains are discovered and a suspect is identified, everyone who had any connection with her feels implicated in her tragedy and haunted by what they could have done to prevent it. The Cold Song is a story about telling stories and about how life is continually invented and reinvented.

The Cold Song

The Cold Song Author Linn Ullmann
ISBN-10 9781590516676
Year 2013
Pages 328
Language en
Publisher Other Press, LLC
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The loving but difficult marriage between chef Siri and blocked writer Jon is challenged during a summer visit on the coast of Norway by the disappearance of their nanny and the wrenching feelings of guilt suffered by everyone associated with her. Original.

The Cold Song

The Cold Song Author Linn Ullmann
ISBN-10 9781590516676
Year 2013
Pages 328
Language en
Publisher Other Press, LLC
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The loving but difficult marriage between chef Siri and blocked writer Jon is challenged during a summer visit on the coast of Norway by the disappearance of their nanny and the wrenching feelings of guilt suffered by everyone associated with her. Original.

The cold song

The cold song Author Henry Purcell
ISBN-10
Year
Pages 6
Language en
Publisher Muzibook Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

PDF sheet music optimized for iPad, tablet and laptop screens. The cold song (What power art thou) by Henry Purcell. Low Voice and Piano. English. Intermediate. MCL586

The US Commitment to NATO in the Post Cold War Period

The US Commitment to NATO in the Post Cold War Period Author Yanan Song
ISBN-10 9783319335483
Year 2016-08-17
Pages 263
Language en
Publisher Springer
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This book examines the continuing US commitments to NATO in the post-Cold War era. The initial focus is on the recommitment decisions of the Clinton administration. It also extensively explores the US operations in Kosovo, Afghanistan and, in particular, Libya. The case study on Libya is especially important in exploring the Obama administration’s understanding of the purpose of NATO in the context of current economic pressures, domestic US debates about post-War on Terror interventions, and of increasing American preoccupation with Pacific rather than European security. The author utilises substantial archival research and interviews with policymakers and academics, including Ambassador Kethleen Stephens, former Special Assistant to the President Stephen J. Flanagan, and former Director for Non-proliferation at National Security Council Robert S. Litwak. This book is ideal for postgraduate researchers and academics in US foreign policy, foreign policy decision-making, transatlantic relations and NATO, as well as a great use to undergraduate students.

Stone Song

Stone Song Author D.L. McDermott
ISBN-10 9781476734415
Year 2014-06-09
Pages 320
Language en
Publisher Simon and Schuster
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, the third in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced and sexy paranormal romance series—a full-length novel available exclusively in ebook! Sorcha Kavanaugh knows better than to tangle with the Fae. She’s been aware of the Fair Folk, the Gentry, the Good Neighbors since she was a little girl. Her Gran used to warn her not to sing, not to play music, not to even hum, lest the Beautiful People hear her remarkable voice and spirit her away. Sorcha never believed Gran’s stories, until one of the creatures walked into a bar where she was singing and stole a year of her life. So when Elada Brightsword, the right hand of South Boston’s renegade Fae patriarch, interrupts her set at the Black Rose, Sorcha knows trouble has found her…again. The Fae warrior has admired Sorcha from afar for months, but he’s aware of her unhappy history with the Fae, and has been waiting for the right time to approach her. Unfortunately for Elada, time has just run out. An old enemy, the malign Prince Consort, has identified Sorcha as a Druid descendent with the potential to become a stone singer, a bard with a voice that can shatter the strongest magical constructs. He will stop at nothing to enslave Sorcha and use her voice to bring down the wall between worlds, freeing the decadent, deadly Fae Court to return—and rule again.

The End of the Cold War

The End of the Cold War Author Michael J. Hogan
ISBN-10 0521437318
Year 1992-06-26
Pages 294
Language es
Publisher Cambridge University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This book, first published in 1992, examines the end of the Cold War and the implications for the history and future of the world order.

The Mission Song

The Mission Song Author John Le Carré
ISBN-10 9781844568949
Year 2008-10-02
Pages 300
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Bruno Salvador, known to friends and enemies alike as Salvo, is the ever-innocent, twenty-nine-year-old orphaned love-child of a Catholic Irish missionary and a Congolese headman’s daughter. Educated first at mission school in the East Congolese province of Kivu, and later at a discreet sanctuary for the secret sons of Rome, Salvo is inspired by his mentor Brother Michael to train as a professional interpreter in the minority African languages of which, almost from birth, he has been an obsessive collector. Soon a rising star in his profession, he is courted by City corporations, hospitals, law courts, the Immigration services and – inevitably – the mushrooming overworld of British Intelligence. He is also courted – and won – by the all-white, Surrey-born Penelope, star reporter on one of our great national newspapers, whom with typical impulsiveness he promptly marries. Yet even as the story opens, a contrary and irresistible love is dawning in him. Despatched to a no-name island in the North Sea to attend a top-secret meeting between Western financiers and East Congolese warlords, Salvo is obliged to interpret matters never intended for his re-awoken African conscience.

The Song Poet

The Song Poet Author Kao Kalia Yang
ISBN-10 9781627794954
Year 2016-05-10
Pages 304
Language en
Publisher Metropolitan Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

From the author of The Latehomecomer, a powerful memoir of her father, a Hmong song poet who sacrificed his gift for his children's future in America In the Hmong tradition, the song poet recounts the story of his people, their history and tragedies, joys and losses; extemporizing or drawing on folk tales, he keeps the past alive, invokes the spirits and the homeland, and records courtships, births, weddings, and wishes. Following her award-winning book The Latehomecomer, Kao Kalia Yang now retells the life of her father Bee Yang, the song poet, a Hmong refugee in Minnesota, driven from the mountains of Laos by American's Secret War. Bee lost his father as a young boy and keenly felt his orphanhood. He would wander from one neighbor to the next, collecting the things they said to each other, whispering the words to himself at night until, one day, a song was born. Bee sings the life of his people through the war-torn jungle and a Thai refugee camp. But the songs fall away in the cold, bitter world of a Minneapolis housing project and on the factory floor until, with the death of Bee's mother, the songs leave him for good. But before they do, Bee, with his poetry, has polished a life of poverty for his children, burnished their grim reality so that they might shine. Written with the exquisite beauty for which Kao Kalia Yang is renowned, The Song Poet is a love story -- of a daughter for her father, a father for his children, a people for their land, their traditions, and all that they have lost.

The Cold War

The Cold War Author Josepha Sherman
ISBN-10 0822501503
Year 2004-01
Pages 96
Language es
Publisher Twenty-First Century Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Chronicles the Cold War, from its origins in the Soviet Revolution as the twentieth century began to the collapse of the Soviet Union as the century closed.

Song of the Water Boatman

Song of the Water Boatman Author Joyce Sidman
ISBN-10 0618135472
Year 2005
Pages 32
Language en
Publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A collection of poems that provide a look at some of the animals, insects, and plants that are found in ponds, with accompanying information about each.

The Cold War

The Cold War Author Steve Phillips
ISBN-10 0435327364
Year 2001
Pages 250
Language es
Publisher Heinemann
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Indhold: The Cold War in Europa 1945-91; The Cold War in Asia and the amricas 1949-75; Cold War to Détente 1945-91; Containing communism: the USA in Asia 1945-73